Back to Meet The Team

TINA VENTURA
CHILDREN'S MINISTRY


I am 33 years old, born and raised in San Diego. My older brother and I were brought up by a single mom who was a functioning addict while my dad was in and out of prison. It wasn’t until I became an addict myself that I realized what my mom was in to. I was 11years old when I started drinking, 12 the first time I smoked weed, and by 13 I was getting kicked out of school for fighting, going to juvenile hall, having sex, and addicted to crystal. Between the ages of 13 and 16 I was hanging out with gang members and frequently running away or staying out for days. My life was a mess. I had a mouth on me like you wouldn’t believe and I didn’t have any regard for authority.

When I was 16 years old I met the Lord. Even though I was still very young, I was also very tired. Tired of the lifestyle. I knew I needed Jesus. It was then that I cried out to him and it was then that he rescued me from the pit of hell. I tried walking with him for a little while but I didn’t surrender my all to him just then. Although I got clean and sober and left my old lifestyle and friends behind, I still found myself in sin. I met somebody and got pregnant with my first daughter. I was 17 by the time I had her and 19 when my son was born. Their dad and I split up and I never went back.

I had finally surrendered my life to Christ and knew that I could not be with someone who was not equally yoked with me. The bible makes that clear. I began faithfully attending and serving at MVCF. I served in children’s ministry, prison ministry and intercessory prayer. This is where I met my husband. He and I were both involved in prison ministry. We were married in 2003 and we now have 7 children and 2 grandchildren. I am a stay at home mom and I love my big family. I am currently serving at the training center where I have been since we started in 2005 and I am heading up the children’s ministry.